Gransnet forums

News & politics

They still don't get it

(195 Posts)
MiceElf Tue 02-Dec-14 18:33:35

Claridges that is. A breastfeeding mother was instructed to cover up by a waiter who appeared with a large table napkin to hide the baby and mother.

Apart from the fact that this violates the terms of the Equalities Act, it's amazing that these attitudes still persist in some ghastly institutions.

GrannyTwice Tue 09-Dec-14 20:24:05

Won't go to Waitrose for free coffee as I am committed to supporting the individual coffee shops in my town that Waitrose is trying to drive out of business

granjura Tue 09-Dec-14 20:19:30

Good job I am a trained and professional translator then ;)

This is all a bit silly and childish, so will leave you to it.

Ana Tue 09-Dec-14 19:28:52

I'm very slow on the uptake, aren't I? tchgrin

(Will now do the same...smile)

rosequartz Tue 09-Dec-14 19:14:57

What was that you all said - not before time?

rosequartz Tue 09-Dec-14 19:14:26

They used them as the model for the GN emoticons! smile keeping my mouth shut now.

Ana Tue 09-Dec-14 19:12:59

How do you know, petallus? Has rosequartz sent you a secret photo of them? tchgrin

petallus Tue 09-Dec-14 18:59:44

They are wonderful teeth aren't they? Gnashers even!

rosequartz Tue 09-Dec-14 18:57:16

I'm not offended, even though I am old.

Just wondering where I could shove my food next time I go to Waitrose. In my handbag for later, perhaps. Although these new teeth grin look mightily impressive for masticating. Better than the old ones.

petallus Tue 09-Dec-14 18:50:42

O.K. I admit it! I shouldn't have made the remark about old folk shoving food into their mouths. It was infair and I take it back. I wish I'd never said it. I apologise to anyone who is offended.

Ana Tue 09-Dec-14 18:46:59

I think granjura's reading things into perfectly innocuous posts!

jinglbellsfrocks Tue 09-Dec-14 18:46:50

And just what am I welcome too? And how does Christmas come into it?