Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Is anyone good at water colours and can advise??

(65 Posts)
HeyHo Thu 17-Dec-20 22:43:44

I started going to a class just before lockdown closed it all..

I am a graphic artist by training in the olden days, but now work as a genealogist - but find water colours great fun.

My techniques are rather hit and miss though!!!

Family have bought me:-

Water colour pencils which are a mystery
Block water colour paints -which I like
Water colour pens - slightly mysterious
Water colour tubes - why do they flake?

then

what sort of paper weight is best?
Some textured ones tend to come slightly apart when wet -

I have loads of brushes of all sorts

I like landscapes

I like birds but can only paint them when they face left......

There we are then - lots of queries

and basically.........HELP!!

JaneJudge Thu 28-Jan-21 12:10:06

I find watercolour difficult too, these efforts are amazing! Start light and go dark and add water to create movement is what we have been taught at our class which I am missing terribly

twinnytwin Thu 28-Jan-21 12:02:17

I have several of Billy Showell's books - in fact I've lots of books on painting. I used to go to a weekly art group but with the pandemic, everying stopped. I now haven't painted for almost a year (sewn, knitted, learned to crochet, cross stitch and embroider) but I can hear my paints and brushes calling me again after reading this thread.

varian Tue 26-Jan-21 13:32:26

Billy Showell, President of The Society of Botanical Artists, does exquisite watercolour paintings of flowers, fruit and vegetables and also has lessons on youtube

www.billyshowell.com/billy/about-billy

nadateturbe Sat 23-Jan-21 22:14:22

Great paintings Ijustwantpeace

borderjoe Sat 23-Jan-21 22:06:33