Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Is anyone good at water colours and can advise??

(64 Posts)
HeyHo Thu 17-Dec-20 22:43:44

I started going to a class just before lockdown closed it all..

I am a graphic artist by training in the olden days, but now work as a genealogist - but find water colours great fun.

My techniques are rather hit and miss though!!!

Family have bought me:-

Water colour pencils which are a mystery
Block water colour paints -which I like
Water colour pens - slightly mysterious
Water colour tubes - why do they flake?

then

what sort of paper weight is best?
Some textured ones tend to come slightly apart when wet -

I have loads of brushes of all sorts

I like landscapes

I like birds but can only paint them when they face left......

There we are then - lots of queries

and basically.........HELP!!

Callistemon Thu 17-Dec-20 22:53:50

I haven't done anything for ages but I do remember being advised to buy the best quality heavy paper, and to place it on a board and use artists' tape all around the edge to stop the paper buckling when you drop water or wet paint on to it..

I used masking tape but I just checked online and it isn't recommended - but we all used it and it seemed fine.

nadateturbe Thu 17-Dec-20 23:36:44

I try watercolour now and again but I prefer acrylics because you can fix mistakes easier but my art class mostly prefer watercolour. One technique we were taught is to use masking tape to secure the paper on to a board, then wet the paper and let it dry before using. But I have also painted without doing this. You will need masking fluid or pen. I use mixed media paper quite a lot simply because its cheaper for learning, and Winsor and Newton 309gsm/140lbwhich is quite thick. I have some books by Terry Harrison and he has quite a lot of info on youtube. I'm sure others will have lots of ideas.
I use blocks which I like and also tubes. I've never noticed them flaking. Maybe someone else will know.