Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Crochet For Absolute Beginners

(20 Posts)
SueSocks Wed 04-Aug-21 03:36:33

I can knit, but don't have the patience to do a major project these days. I have always wanted to learn how to crochet. I have looked for classes in the area, there aren't any. There are many YouTube videos, hard to know which to choose, so does anyone have any experience of teaching themselves to crochet? Any hints? Are there any YouTube channels that you can recommend? Thank you!

Chardy Wed 04-Aug-21 06:43:19

Bella Coco was a favourite of everyone in the group where we learnt to crochet. Here's her absolute beginners link
www.google.com/search?q=crochet+bella+coco+starting&client=tablet-android-samsung-rev2&sxsrf=ALeKk01J3Kf9kfqhDuSd3o0wzgRLuc9uxQ%3A1628055658506&ei=aigKYbutHo2bgQbw_qmYDA&oq=crochet+bella+coco+starting&gs_lcp=Cgdnd3Mtd2l6EAMyCAghEKABEIsDMggIIRCgARCLAzIICCEQoAEQiwM6BwgjELADECc6BwgAEEcQsAM6BQgAEIAEOgYIABAWEB46CAgAEAgQDRAeOgoIIRAKEKABEIsDOgcIIRAKEKABOgcIIRAVEIsDSgQIQRgAUIwiWP5nYI2AAWgBcAJ4AYABzASIAYgOkgEJNC4zLjIuNS0xmAEAoAEByAEJuAEDwAEB&sclient=gws-wiz&ved=0ahUKEwi7isz505byAhWNTcAKHXB_CsMQ4dUDCA4&uact=5#kpvalbx=_gCgKYc6rMoiXgAaugo-oBA66

BlueBelle Wed 04-Aug-21 07:49:24

I used to be able to crochet really well and made some beautiful dresses for my girls in silk cotton including their christening gowns but after having not done any for about 35 plus years I bought myself a simple ( I thought) book and it was like a foreign language I couldn’t pick it up at all but this winter I m going to have a real go I can remember some of the stitches but the pattern seemed so different
It doesn’t help because American and British stitches can be different can’t they

ginny Wed 04-Aug-21 07:56:31

I taught myself from a book called Crochetpedia. by. Julie Oparka.

silverlining48 Wed 04-Aug-21 10:27:19

I just had a look at Bella link and plan to give crochet a try. Thanks Chardy.

Bluebellwould Wed 04-Aug-21 10:30:08