Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Yay! Learning to knit continental style 😁

(92 Posts)
Fairycakes Sat 10-Feb-24 18:48:32

I have tried twice in the past to knit continental style but it's never worked out for me. Everything seemed back to front and confusing. Not that it should; after all I crochet. I decided to give it a final go - and finally it clicked. It did help that I found a very good tutor on YouTube. So I have been knitting like mad, trying to perfect my stitches which are rather bumpy and uneven. I keep dropping them too. I feel as though I am 8 years old again and learning to knit for the first time ever 😂. Here's a photo of my knitting. No laughing allowed 🤭

grandtanteJE65 Sat 10-Feb-24 18:51:53

I gave up on the British way of knitting when I was seven, and got my mother to teach me the Continental way. It is faster, easier and better for your wrists.

I am by no means an expert knitter, but my knitting is not bumpy, so perservere.

Or as my Grannie said, " If at once you don't suceed, try, try, and try again!"

Primrose53 Sat 10-Feb-24 18:52:44

Looks great. 👏👏 I usually knit socks the continental way apart from turning the heel. My late MIL was German and knitted that way and was so fast and even.

BlueBelle Sat 10-Feb-24 18:53:07

So as a non knitter what’s the difference ?

Siope Sat 10-Feb-24 18:59:23

Well done! Somehow, as a child I learned continental style, although my mother, who taught me, never knitted that way.

I rarely knit, so am poor at it, but at least I’m fast 😂

Oldnproud Sat 10-Feb-24 19:22:11

I have gone over to the continental way too, Fairycakes in the last couple of years.
Initially, it was because I wanted to improve my fairisle by being able to knit with one colour in each hand. It took a lot of practice, but for me it was the realization that my left hand did most of the yarn work with no problem at all when I crochet that helped me over the mental block of using that hand for knitting too.