Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Painting Warhammer miniatures dwarfs/Elf's etc. Old World

(24 Posts)
jeanie99 Mon 11-Mar-24 13:08:35

I've been playing Warhammer with my son and grandson for over a year now and have decided to try and paint some of the characters.
I received the paints and some characters for a Christmas present but have just got round to starting the project.
You tube is very good at showing you how to go about this but I am a beginner so am looking for advice tips and suggestions for creating something great on my first attempt.
I hope there is someone who can give me some advice. Thank you.

shezsumner Mon 11-Mar-24 14:08:33

Ive no idea what warhammer is but I would say just go for it...you will improve only with practice & don't worry about mistakes...you can always start again! I go to an art group and non of us are artists..we just play and enjoy ourselves with paint and its amazing what's created!! Its important to enjoy the process...Good luck

JamesandJon33 Mon 11-Mar-24 14:33:02

My son has done this for years. Some are exceptional and he has sold many. As far as I know he just does his own thing using little pots of Humboldt paint. Just go carefully and enjoy it, I would say

Whiff Mon 11-Mar-24 18:38:14

jeanie my nephew has been making and painting models for game play for years. He always waters down the paint and applies thin coats as it gives a better finish and you can get more contrast. It takes longer but if you make a mistake it's easier to wipe off a thin coat of paint than a thick one. Plus he uses small brushes even on large pieces as you have more control. Make sure each coat of paint is bone dry before applying the next.

There are a lot of youtube classes with tips on painting. It's how he learnt . They are mainly American.

J52 Mon 11-Mar-24 18:56:17

My only advice is don’t paint them on the carpet as my DSs did when they were young! 😂

Primrose53 Mon 11-Mar-24 19:11:56