Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Long Lasting - Moisturising Lipstick

(31 Posts)
Myym Wed 06-Dec-17 12:30:16

Hi,
With the effects of getting older and the currant cooler weather which makes skin dry out more I need to look for a better lipstick.
Can anyone recommend a reasonably priced lipstick that lasts well throughout the day but doesn't dry lips or go clumpy around the edges?

newnanny Tue 12-Dec-17 15:02:02

I am just so impressed you are so far ahead not only with gift buying but wrapped too. I still have several to get. I was going yesterday but snow stopped me, now bad ice today. I hate wrapping so put off to Christmas Eve. Could you get another, keep receipt and if first one turns up take it back for refund?

LuckyFour Sun 10-Dec-17 18:00:41

Best lipstick is Max Factor Lipfinity. IVe been using it for a few years, nice colours and it lasts all day. I never leave my bedroom without applying it first. Makes me feel better.

f77ms Sun 10-Dec-17 09:24:31

chickenlegs they are genuine , they only cost around £7 normally . I used to use the long lasting, two stage lipsticks but found they were very drying even when you use the top coat constantly . My lips were actually sore and rough so I had to stop using them . I have a Lancôme one now which seems to last a bit longer than others .

lemongrove Sun 10-Dec-17 09:17:09

Barry M every time! buy online.They stay on for ages, even after meals out or drinks.

chickenlegs Sun 10-Dec-17 09:06:59

Maybelline 24hr lipstick is on lots of ebay offers for four or five pounds. Do you think they are genuine, or could they be fakes?

pen50 Sat 09-Dec-17 20:39:51

Another vote for Lipcote here; I use it every day over a frosted Mac lipstick and it seems to last pretty much all day.

Parsleywin Sat 09-Dec-17 19:06:35

I've been getting longer-lasting lippy by applying over a lip primer. I thought I'd try a cheap one before possibly going upmarket, and have to say I've been pleased with one from Primark.