Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Old wedding photos

(37 Posts)
Savannasnan Sat 13-Apr-19 17:59:04

Hi all this is my first post. My Daughter's first marriage didn't work out sadly. As an amateur photographer I took loads of photos of the wedding. My daughter is now with a new partner and they have a daughter. Our much loved granddaughter. My daughter destroyed all her old wedding photos. Understandably as he cheated on her. But I still have my photos in an album. I have chucked any photos of my ex SIL but kept photos of my daughter and her Dad. My MIL has sinced passed away but is in a group photo. My dilemma is should my granddaughter find album would she be confused that her Mum is with another man or should I just bin it? My daughter did look lovely and had a horse and carriage. All documented in my album.

Daisyboots Wed 05-Feb-20 19:48:21

When moving abroad I went throyghallmy photos and took out those photos that really only meant anything to me and gave the rest and the wedding album from my first marriage to my eldest DD. She and other siblings had a lovely afternoon going through the photos which brought back many happy memories for them. They decided to keep the albums as they were but the loose photos and slides slides my DD had printed and shared them out. If I had taken them with me they may have been lost when whoever clears out our home when we die. Better for them to have them rather than that.

Scentia Wed 05-Feb-20 19:11:53

I kept photo’s of my DH first wife just to show my DC when they were older. The first wife shaped the DH/DD we all know and it was important to not erase his past. We looked at them not long ago and he we were saying how pretty she was, and she was (but then so was I 35 years ago?)
Don’t completely erase her mum’s past but be sure they your DD knows they exist.x

Nanamar Wed 05-Feb-20 18:57:20