Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Rufus

(40 Posts)
callgirl1 Thu 08-Aug-19 23:25:26

Have I missed something lately? I`ve just realised that I haven`t seen a post from Rufus recently, hope he`s alright.

Rufus2 Sun 11-Aug-19 14:30:50

Up The City Blues! OoRoo
Buffy; Good to hear from you again! smile Hope you're keeping well. There's a tune called "Walking in the Rain", but I don't do that these days; also, my Wellies don't fit!
Watched City deal with the Hammers on TV today. Old Alf Garnett must be spinning in his grave! grin OoRoo to you too!

Dawn22 Sun 11-Aug-19 11:54:42

Hi Rufus
Welcome back.
I am a newbie to your cheerful ways.
Slainte. Irish version for good health to us all.
Dawn.

Rufus2 Sun 11-Aug-19 11:15:37

they do 4 weeks hands on in a hospital
Oooh, I bet you loved that bit.

Oooh, You are naughty! grin
Unfortunately it was a case of "hands on" for nurses and "hands off" for me! sad
Just as well really; I haven't been fitted with a pacemaker, so could have finished up in ICU; not the sort of delayed exit I had in mind! OoRoo

BradfordLass72 Sun 11-Aug-19 05:13:36

Rufus2 One of the best cricket jokes, almost certainly apocryphal, was Brian Johnston saying, 'Here they come now, onto the field. The batsman's Holding, the Bowler's Willey."

In this video, it seems these two lovely old commentators feel Jonners set it up himself.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0a-FOoM9ms

Rufus2 Sun 11-Aug-19 04:17:55

At least the nurse didn't say 'Just a little prick'.
Shysal; As a matter of fact some did, but I thought it best not to use that term here, to save GN ladies' blushes. It kept reminding me of a "clever" joke as told to me by an Irish bowling colleague years ago, but had to keep biting my tongue in case I blurted it out.! grin To me, all nurses (not the male ones of course!) are modern day Florence Nightingales who wouldn't appreciate any remotely risqué jokes. I miss them all! wink

PageTurner Sun 11-Aug-19 02:54:41

Hi Rufus,