Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

threatening son

(91 Posts)
Val05 Fri 04-Oct-19 23:35:21

Hi there
I am new to Gransnet and I am a grandmother. I am also a Mother to a son aged 37 who I believe smokes marijuana. He has very aggressive behaviour and has begun to threaten my husband and I, he is verbally abusive and tries to control us. He lives with us at the moment but we are all feeling very fed up with his behaviours, he is load and shouts and swears and god knows what my neighbours think. At times when things are really bad we ask him to leave, no we tell him to leave, but because we have never forced the issue he just doesn't go. As his mother I am also scared that if we force him to go he will deteriorate and Im scared of the drug abuse and honestly love him with all my heart. I have offered for him to go into re-hab but he doesn't feel he is as bad as he is. I am sure the marijuana is affecting his mental health but also ours. I cannot see a way out. I know many of you will say stand up to him and throw him out, but if we do the situation becomes explosive and the only way out would be to call the police. I worry about him constantly but feel I cannot help him as he cannot help himself. There are times when I see the son I used to have, my love doesn't stop for him but I have to think of the rest of us here life is pretty sad and upsetting at times.
Thank you for listening to me, I think I have needed to off load this. I will listen to all replies and try to act on those that I feel may work for what once was a very loving family.

boodymum67 Sat 26-Oct-19 13:36:31

Yes I can see how much this is hurting you and your DH.
This may sound extreme, but as all other avenues have not come to any good conclusion, how about speaking to a Social Worker?

grapefruitpip Mon 07-Oct-19 15:23:36