Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

How lucky are you?

(32 Posts)
CoffeeFirst1 Fri 20-May-22 22:30:16

What was the last thing you won?

I won a Christmas hamper about 4 years ago, nothing since ?

Iam64 Mon 23-May-22 19:09:37

Puzzled

VERY!
Married to a lovely, hard working, partner. Just celebrated our 58th wedding anniversary.
In reasonable health (OK, don't run anywhere, certainly not up or down stairs, any more)
We both walk without a stick
We have a lovely DD and GC.
Able to cover our costs, and live in a comfortable weatherproof house.
What not be feel happy and lucky about?

Well said Puzzled. I’ve been very lucky in the same way, though recent news is less fortunate. That has increased my awareness of the need to count blessings in the ordinary. Winning the lottery wouldn’t change what many of us face

tidyskatemum Mon 23-May-22 19:03:09

I’ve been entering competitions for a few years. Biggest wins have been a couple of £500 worth of clothing and once £500 cash. I do find that wins seem to come in 3s. I’ve recently won £2000 on the local hospice lottery (which I had forgotten I was still paying into!) and today I got an email saying I’d won a linen bread bag in a magazine competition. I’m holding my breath in anticipation of win no 3.

Puzzled Mon 23-May-22 17:39:32

VERY!
Married to a lovely, hard working, partner. Just celebrated our 58th wedding anniversary.
In reasonable health (OK, don't run anywhere, certainly not up or down stairs, any more)
We both walk without a stick
We have a lovely DD and GC.
Able to cover our costs, and live in a comfortable weatherproof house.
What not be feel happy and lucky about?

dogsmother Sat 21-May-22 13:22:31

Never anything massive, but a fair few smaller things over the years and I certainly do consider myself to be a very lucky person. I truly don’t think I’m the sort of person to land a big one though, I just don’t think that’s me.

Redhead56 Sat 21-May-22 13:05:47