Gransnet forums

Books/book club

Any ideas for books for a reading group please?

(39 Posts)
GrandmaH Tue 11-Sep-12 12:12:33

I have been running a reading group for my WI for about 4 years now & I am running out of ideas for new books to read.
I get the books from the local library so we don't always manage to get the most recent books although sometimes we get lucky.
I try to vary it as much as possible so we read a good variety of authors & subjects- fiction only & no poetry by popular request!
If anyone has a book that has been popular at their own group or one that they think we would like, I'd be grateful for the title.
I think the most popular so far has been The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society & I have also discovered that they like a good murder- I was amazed that Lee Childs went down very well (which we only did as it was a World Book Night choice of one of our group & she had some to give away free).The Help & also The Island were popular too & we will be discussing The Thread tonight.
So any suggestions will be very welcome.

vampirequeen Tue 11-Sep-12 18:48:16

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Attwood. Good read and thought provoking.

baNANA Tue 11-Sep-12 20:24:52

Hello GrandmaH, you may have read some of these, but I think any of them would make good reading for a book club and are definitely among my favourite reads. Star of the Sea - Joseph O'Conner, Poisinwood Bible - Barbarba Kingsolver, Middlesex - Jeffery Eugenides, We Had It So Good - Linda Grant, The American Boy, Bleeding Heart Square - both by Andrew Taylor, Gillespie and I - Jane Harris, The Chimney Sweep's Boy - Barbara Vine. Everyone has their own idea what makes a good read and of course one man's meat etc. You might do this already, but I like to get up reviews on Amazon and Waterstones to see how books have been rated.

glitabo Tue 11-Sep-12 20:35:32

Our reading group liked
Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese. This is set in Ethiopia and America.