Gransnet forums

Books/book club

October book club - An Italian Summer

(59 Posts)
LauraGransnet (GNHQ) Mon 01-Oct-18 11:21:34

Hi everyone! Official October book club thread here smile

You should be starting to receive your copies of Fanny Blake's book so, once you've read it, please do leave your questions and comments for Fanny below.

If you've borrowed or bought a copy yourself, you're very welcome to join the conversation too.

Happy reading!

Marydoll Mon 01-Oct-18 14:45:25

I can't believe I won a copy, thanks GN. I was feeling quite low and receiving this book has cheered me up.
I am a retired teacher and I love Italy, what more could a girl ask for? grin

Pittcity Mon 01-Oct-18 15:25:52

I am a few chapters in and am already missing the Summer.

nahsma Wed 03-Oct-18 11:02:36

Got my copy, thank you, a lovely treat in the post. I had a minute of total confusion “I don't remember ordering anything....” and then was amazed to have been so lucky. Will start reading tomorrow.

trisher Wed 03-Oct-18 11:04:09

Well I have finished it and have been roughly transported from the heat of an Italian summer back to the cold reality of NE England. It is that sort of a book. It gives you a real feel for Italy, Rome and Naples in particular.
Spoiler Alert!
I did wonder about happy endings and people getting their just deserts and if Fanny feels this is one of the requirements of her novels. Everything does seem to work out for the people you come to like in the book.
I did like the friendship which developed between Alice and Sandy helping them both cope with their problems.

LynnKnowles Wed 03-Oct-18 11:49:03

Thank you - received the book yesterday. Looking forward to time-travelling back into those warm balmy days !

Truffle1 Thu 04-Oct-18 19:14:08