Gransnet forums

Books/book club

Deconolisation of literature curriculum

(102 Posts)
GagaJo Wed 06-Apr-22 16:09:17

Replacing Jane Austin with Toni Morrison.

I 100% approve. Morrison is a wordsmith!

uk.news.yahoo.com/jane-austen-dropped-university-english-184211083.html

Sarahmob Wed 06-Apr-22 21:41:07

When I did my English degree 25 years ago (as a mature student). I did a unit of work on Jane Austen and a separate unit of work on Toni Morrison. Both have a place in the canon of literature (my opinion for what it’s worth).

Witzend Wed 06-Apr-22 21:55:23

Poor old Jane! I will always love her.
But you might at least pay her the courtesy of spelling her surname correctly, Gagajo.

Urmstongran Wed 06-Apr-22 21:57:47

This is in Scotland. Stirling University I believe.

Casdon Wed 06-Apr-22 21:59:10

Jane Austen is a wordsmith too GagaJo, she was a product of her upbringing as we all are, but that doesn’t detract from her skill as a writer.

Doodledog Wed 06-Apr-22 22:04:30

Sarahmob

When I did my English degree 25 years ago (as a mature student). I did a unit of work on Jane Austen and a separate unit of work on Toni Morrison. Both have a place in the canon of literature (my opinion for what it’s worth).

Agreed.

It's non-news though. Modules change all the time, and some sort of rationale has to be given for the benefit of The Paperwork. As often as not the real reason is that the person teaching has changed and has a different area of interest, or something equally pragmatic. Why this would be of interest to anyone other than a student considering taking the module is beyond me.

Decolonisation is a buzzword though, and there are more texts from more diverse authors appearing on modules on all sorts of subjects.

Urmstongran Wed 06-Apr-22 22:07:34

Its more about virtue signalling and Scottish de-Anglicization.

eazybee Wed 06-Apr-22 22:16:40

You purport to be a teacher of English and you can't even bother to spell Jane Austen's name correctly.