Gransnet forums

Care & carers

Carers health assessment

(37 Posts)
Maybelle Mon 03-Jun-19 12:10:00

I am a full time carer for my DH. Finding it a bit heavy going and isolating at times.

I have been contact by my GP surgery offering me a carers health assessment.

Has anyone had one of these and can tell me what it involves and does it make any difference ?

Thanks

annsixty Mon 03-Jun-19 12:51:39

Hi Maybelle
When I was caring for my H, my GP surgery certainly were not interested in either of us, a sign of the times I think.
However we did have a SW and she carried out a carers assessment and I was given £150 just to spend on myself.
She suggested a hair appt or a weekend away or anything to give me a lift.
I think your surgery are looking at your health needs, though a rest is all we need.

Luckygirl Mon 03-Jun-19 13:31:34

I have been fighting to get a Carer's Assessment for me for the last 2 months.

Slowcookervegan Mon 03-Jun-19 13:39:58

Adult social care came to the house. We talked about what i was capable of doing and what i wasnt. Tgey did a risk assessment and then they adapted my house to make it safe, put in a panic system for emergencies. Then awarded me so many hours of care and talked me through my options. Couldn't thank them enough.

trisher Mon 03-Jun-19 13:47:08

MaybelleI hope it is as helpful as Slowcookervegan says. I just wondered have you asked if there is a carers support group near you? I found out abut one near me just before my mum died. It sounded really good and I wish I'd known about it before. It might be worth ringing social services or asking your GP if there is one. You sound as if you need some support.

Maybelle Tue 04-Jun-19 03:16:31

Thanks for the replies and information.

I phoned and made an appointment for the assessment . It will be in 2 weeks time and will carried out a nurse at the surgery.

Told it will take around 20 minutes.