Gransnet forums

Chat

School memories

(36 Posts)
Bags Tue 08-Jan-13 13:20:45

Joanne Harris tweeted that she was once given detention by her English teacher, for writing stories in the back of her English exercise book grin. That reminded me of my history teacher who used to dictate notes a lot. I was a reasonably fast writer so would guess ahead and keep writing. Lots of crossings out in my notes. Never got in trouble for it though, which makes me think the teacher knew what I was doing and understood. She was a nice person if a rotten history teacher.

Bags Tue 08-Jan-13 13:22:12

Only ever got detention from a prefect – for being 'glib'. Translation: poisonous little brat wink

Ana Tue 08-Jan-13 13:25:16

A friend and I got detentions and a serious telling-off by the Headmistress for the "appropriation and misuse of general notebooks", which we were supposed to use for rough work and notes etc. We'd actually stolen a couple of new ones from the stock cupboard and were using them to write stories in...very bad! blush

Grannyknot Tue 08-Jan-13 13:26:41

I went to visit a teacher who was terminally ill, 25 years after I left school (she never had any children and her pupils were her 'girls' and some had kept in touch) - several of us had arranged to go so I saw people at that visit that had been at school with me, but I hadn't seen for that long. One of the "girls" said to me "I hope you're still writing". I said "Why?" She replied "We all hated you because you would sit on the classroom step before class and dash off your essay and you always got top marks!" smile I loved school.

gracesmum Tue 08-Jan-13 13:54:45