Gransnet forums

Chat

School memories

(37 Posts)
Bags Tue 08-Jan-13 13:20:45

Joanne Harris tweeted that she was once given detention by her English teacher, for writing stories in the back of her English exercise book grin. That reminded me of my history teacher who used to dictate notes a lot. I was a reasonably fast writer so would guess ahead and keep writing. Lots of crossings out in my notes. Never got in trouble for it though, which makes me think the teacher knew what I was doing and understood. She was a nice person if a rotten history teacher.

feetlebaum Wed 09-Jan-13 17:47:16

Just after the war there was an interesting mix of teachers in the all-boys grammar school I graced with my rather grubby presence... Some of the younger ones were trickling back after being demobbed, others had been brought back out of retirement to fill the vacancies.

Our RI teacher was great, a Welsh novelist who wrote some pretty purple prose - I listened to his [i]Moulded in Earth[/i] on Woman's Hour and gained a new respect... no tweed jacket with leather elbow patches for him - always the bespoke suit. "Tell me boys," he said "how many of you smoke?" - hands rose, hesitantly. "Hmm" he said "smoke a pipe. It's much better for you..." End of subject!