Gransnet forums

Chat

Puncturing someones balloon

(44 Posts)
littleflo Mon 08-Sep-14 08:16:03

There was an article in yesterdays paper about some american football fans tossing around a beach ball during the interval of the game. Everyone was having fun until one fan stamped on it and then applauded himself and grinned at the camera.

I am very new to Gransnet, and I love it. People on here seem to be, such a wonderful supportive group. Witty, knowledgeable, articulate, extremely kind and often grateful for the help and advice they have received

However I have noticed that on occasions a light-hearted post is going along very nicely tossed around to one gransnetter and then another, when suddenly there appears a post that punctures the balloon.

petra Tue 09-Sep-14 21:14:27

Me. I would say there are about 6. As Nelliemoser said: it's in the humour.

janerowena Tue 09-Sep-14 14:43:39

I met up with a lovely lady last year, sadly she has dropped from sight on the board unless she is here in another incarnation. I just found it hard to keep up regular meetups at the time, as I was helping to care for a sick niece.

I don't think I've come across anyone who posts regularly yet that I couldn't face meeting!

Nelliemoser Tue 09-Sep-14 13:24:50

I find it easy to get "a feel" for people on here whether good or bad.
For me it's often down to people who seem to have the same odd sense of humour.
Which is probably always a sign that you are on the same wavelength as someone else.

I am not sure how the thread is defining "puncturing someone's balloon" though.
Is that just a fundamental disagreement about facts or a difference in view points. Or just a plainly offensive remark.

As has been said many times before, a challenge to someone else's viewpoint, can be considered offensive by some when other's just see it as being an alternative view point.

Some of us can deal with it others seem to find it upsetting. There is probably little that can be done about that.