Gransnet forums

Chat

Changing Fuel Suppliers

(11 Posts)
Hopehope Sat 20-May-17 00:47:25

Apologies if I have missed a thread about this already. We have been with British Gas for years for Gas and Electricity. It has always been fine. It is time now to renew the contract again, but this time they don't seem to have anything very tempting to offer.

I did bit of a search, and OVO seem to be the best I can see ( For us), not only the price, but things like a UK call centre, and they have been voted best provider for the past few years.

Does anyone here have experience of them? Also if any of you have changed providers was it hassle free?

Thank You smile

Cunco Sat 20-May-17 07:52:57

I have no knowledge of OVO but, as a dual fuel customer, I did switch from British Gas to Scottish Power some years ago. The switch happened without hassle and we saved a lot of money. Scottish Power were not the cheapest but, at the time, they had a good customer rating. I have had no major problems with my new provider.

I keep my meter readings up-to-date and keep an eye on my credit balance to make sure the company's computer is not building the credit balance too high. I can adjust it on-line if it does. I have taken fixed price contracts which have served me well but, if I want to, I think I can switch out without penalty.

whitewave Sat 20-May-17 08:05:46

I switch my suppliers roughly once a year.

N-Power was my last supplier - fixed price dual. Last month I was advised that my monthly direct debit was going up to 140pm from 90!!!!

Now with Green Network at £63pm.

Go to compare or one of those sites, I also look at Which as well you can pay £1 for information, then switch. It is dead easy. The most you have to do is read the meters.

I switch all my various suppliers as and when necessary - this year I have switched roadside rescue and saved a huge amount. Do the same for everything.