Gransnet forums

Chat

Graduating to Gransnet

(42 Posts)
Rufussmum Sun 30-Sep-18 07:31:44

I wonder if others on here were, or still are, users of Mumsnet? I recently joined GN after mooching about on MN for a few years. I wonder if there is a 'graduation day' or age when people feel more at home on here.
Dare I say it, but there is a calmer, more rational tone to most of the Forum posts (even AIBU). And all that hard-won wisdom on tap grin.

Flossieturner Sun 30-Sep-18 08:21:08

I agree with you and I also wish Mumsnet had been around when I was younger. I had no-one to ask for advice, share stories with or just vent. There is huge part of MNet which is supportive and helpful.

I think I graduated when I realised that I would not really be able to offer any useful advice to the MN generation. Most of my life experiences are not that relevant . I Am now a ‘look only’. I Learn a lot about practical things, gardening, tv, pets but stay away from anything else. I found that a lot of posts made me very sad. People in really terrible situations .There is nothing I can do but just want to give them a hug and make it better.

Fennel Sun 30-Sep-18 09:26:37

I still read Mumsnet often, and sometimes post. There are many interesting topics, and usually people are polite.
The only thing I find difficult is that there are so many members on there you don't often get a give and take discussion - people just give their opinion and that's it.
I suppose if you were on it a lot you might get to know some of the regulars, as we do on here.

Rufussmum Sun 30-Sep-18 09:47:28

You do need a hard hat if you post something even mildly contentious on MN's AIBU. Someone on there said an OP should take down their post 'before the AIBU vipers wake up.' Stimulating reading but from a view-only position from me.

Pittcity Sun 30-Sep-18 12:28:22

I am another "view only" on MN. I can't keep up with the pace.

lemongrove Sun 30-Sep-18 12:31:30

I don’t even bother to view it now tbh.