Gransnet forums

Chat

Did you like writing research papers during your studying?

(21 Posts)
Enola Tue 04-Dec-18 17:03:11

How difficult was this for you? Personally I have rather unpleasant memories about these tasks.

Jane10 Tue 04-Dec-18 17:21:15

It's hard work but I loved it.

DoraMarr Tue 04-Dec-18 18:52:33

I enjoyed the challenge. I’ve joined a writing group, so still have that challenge, only this time it’s for me!

Day6 Tue 04-Dec-18 18:59:38

I absolutely loved it!

I was a student in the '70s and of course we spent hour upon hour in the library with piles of books for reference. The internet makes research SO much easier. I remember I loved sifting through different ideas and thoughts and restructuring them for my essays.

I have often thought I'd have liked to have earned a living doing research for others. My own children "allowed me"(quite happily) to assist with their university assignments.

grannyactivist Tue 04-Dec-18 19:13:32

I went to university as a mature student and when I finally got the opportunity to study I loved it. Writing assignment I continue to channel this by doing genealogical research in my 'spare' time and then writing up my results in a brief narrative form.

BBbevan Tue 04-Dec-18 19:40:22

Loved writing essays. The research, the reasoning, and the physical writing were all part of it. Don't do enough writing now.Just theoddleter.

Jane10 Tue 04-Dec-18 20:15:01

I did a doctorate in my 50s and loved it. Then I retired and wrote a couple of novels. Now I write for the People's Friend. Massive change of direction or what! I have new story in tomorrow's Special.
You never know where academic study will take you!!

Marydoll Tue 04-Dec-18 21:01:00

When I studied for my first degree over forty years ago, I hated the whole process. I was probably too immature to be at university.
Thirty odd years later, I studied for a second degree in my fifties and it was a totally different experience. I thrived on all the research I had to do.