Gransnet forums

Chat

National Trust entrance policy

(22 Posts)
Linbow Wed 12-Aug-20 13:28:20

This is my first time on gransnet so for give me if I have posted this to the wrong forum. My husband (who has Parkinson’s)and I have been members of the NT for well over ten years and have enjoyed visiting the gardens etc when Mike’s condition allows. It is not an option to book in advance as the NT are demanding, and it goes against the grain to book and then not turn up. I emailed them to see if they had a solution to my problem and had a very terse reply, that’s how it is book on line or not come I realise these are difficult times but surely there could be a way round the problem. We will not be renewing our membership. Sorry to have gone on a bit but l feel better having got it of my chest.

Cabbie21 Wed 12-Aug-20 13:43:39

I am not sure why you say it is not an option for you to book in advance.
That is the only way they can manage numbers at the moment.
My DH has good and bad days but we have booked a couple of NT visits. If on the day he was not well enough, we would not have gone. As members there is no financial effect. I know it might deprive two other people of entry, but so far there have been plenty of slots available to book in the week.

Nortsat Wed 12-Aug-20 13:47:47

Linbow, I am so sorry to hear this. It seems extremely unreasonable and how disappointing for both of you, as long standing members.

I think the law (the Disability Discrimination Act) requires service providers to make ‘reasonable adjustments’ for disabled people. This sounds like the NT are not doing so. You could write again, as a member and request a copy of their Equality Policy and warn them that you feel they are not making their facilities accessible to your husband, by their inflexible approach to booking.