Gransnet forums

Chat

Freezing cooked chicken

(36 Posts)
MissAdventure Fri 06-Nov-20 14:24:54

I've never done this before, so any advice would be very welcome, please.

arosebyanyothername Fri 06-Nov-20 14:31:27

I've frozen cooked left over chicken in slices which DH defrosts for sandwiches.

Also make chicken pie from leftovers and freeze.

Never been a problem for us as long it's frozen straight away.

Riverwalk Fri 06-Nov-20 14:32:42

There is no problem with this, I do it all the time.

Portion as appropriate then put in tupperware-type container and freeze. Defrost when needed and re-heat in microwave or some sort of sauce/gravy.

You can eat it cold when defrosted if you wanted to put in a sandwich or salad.

Right now I have chicken thighs and drumsticks marinating in the fridge - tonight I'll have some for supper then freeze the remaining two portions.

MissAdventure Fri 06-Nov-20 14:38:06

Oh thank you.
I wasn't sure about what to freeze it in, and the reheating.
Now I know, my feezer will be full of all my leftovers.

Riverwalk Fri 06-Nov-20 14:41:27

I freeze most everything! Yesterday I slow-cooked a gammon joint - when well-chilled I sliced into 100g portions, wrapped them in clingfilm and into the freezer.

phoenix Fri 06-Nov-20 14:45:35

Yes, MissA, do it frequently, never had a problem, although never used it for sandwiches.

The same with turkey, we buy a biggish one, even though it's only the two of us. It's cheap, low fat and versatile.

You can even do it with a frozen chicken or turkey. If you change the molecular structure by cooking, it is perfectly safe to freeze the cooked meat.

Fennel Fri 06-Nov-20 14:47:37

I freeze most leftovers, including cooked chicken, in plastic bags as it takes up less room. We don't have much freezer space now.
Hang the bag over a small jug etc and spoon the food in then tie the top.

MissAdventure Fri 06-Nov-20 14:53:27

Ah, thank you all.
Can I just ask how you would defrost and reheat it, please?