Gransnet forums

Chat

Family tree

(106 Posts)
Shandy57 Wed 03-Feb-21 22:06:00

Is anyone else researching their family tree? I found it very difficult to do a few years after my husband died, but now it's five years I thought I'd return to it. I've now paid for Worldwide ancestry access, and have just found out that my grandfather was born in India. I'm 63 and have no memory of ever being told this - and my one remaining aunt didn't mention it when I went to India on holiday. I've spoken to her tonight and she is sure I'd been told in the past, but I have no memory of it.

Oopsadaisy1 Wed 03-Feb-21 22:12:18

I think you’ll find lots of things that you weren’t told about! But I usually find something then vaguely remember my Mum saying about it.
I’ve been doing it for 16 years and it’s fascinating.

Esspee Wed 03-Feb-21 22:22:25

I started a couple of months ago and am finding it completely engrossing and very addictive. I managed to get back to the early 1800s with every line in about a month and am now fleshing out their lives through research.
It helps greatly that most of my ancestors are Scottish, such marvellous records and reasonably priced access to them.
Don’t order certificates from Ancestry. It is such a rip off.

Hejira Wed 03-Feb-21 22:24:21

Another family historian both my own family and for others on an amateur basis. I have also been surprised by the things I have discovered about the family members I knew and those I didn't.

I'm inclined to use family history as a hook to read more about local and social history.

Sharing photos on Ancestry has lead to very interesting discussions with distant and previously unknown cousins. In one case, I was able to solve a long-standing mystery in another branch of the family. I had no idea that a box file of old photos which came to me from my late father-in-law and had sat untouched for decades, held the key to a mystery that had perplexed someone else for decades.

baubles Wed 03-Feb-21 22:29:20