Gransnet forums

Christmas

Christmas dilemma

(20 Posts)
LeslieBgran Thu 25-Nov-21 20:41:37

Hi all you grans ,need a bit of advise. I’ve been hosting Christmas for my family since I got married, 41 years, alternate years for in-laws and my family as my 3 kids have grown, moved out, mostly come to us for Christmas 4 grandchildren later they still all come to us, we have never been asked to their homes at Christmas, Boxing Day or New Year’s Day, or any other day for a meal come to that, they’re at ours. My health has not been great this year, just had a new stent fitted due to artery blockage. I found doing Christmas Day 3 course diner for 9 adults and 4 children quite stressful last year and realised that none of my children were ever going to take a turn of hosting or inviting us for Christmas Day. Much as I love seeing them all and feel lucky that they want to come home , we would like a more relaxed time with them, time for a blether and time to play with the children so decided this year would do a buffet instead of a sit down meal. I’ve let them know, My daughter has just told me that she’s doing her own Christmas dinner this year, first time ever ! She’s 35married for 9years and 2 children and won’t be at ours at Christmas. I feel so hurt,I thought it’s about being together not what we eat, am I being unreasonable not providing a sit down meal? If my son and family feel the same we could be sitting on our own on Christmas Day . What should I do .

Oopsadaisy1 Thu 25-Nov-21 20:45:36

Well you can either wear yourself out as you have in the past, or have a rest.
Your children might find out how much work it is if they don’t come to you this year, and appreciate the enormous effort it takes.
I would stick to your guns and have a peaceful Christmas, its only one day after all.

seacliff Thu 25-Nov-21 20:46:47

Tell her, and your son, that you really aren't up to hosting. You've done more than your stint, and ask if you can come to hers this year.