Gransnet forums

Coronavirus

breaking the rules, or not

(68 Posts)
Pinkhousegirl Sun 07-Jun-20 17:30:51

hello
my daughter's baby is two weeks old and already suffering terrible colic. She is living with her partner in a small flat, and I am about 5km away, again in a flat, though slightly larger. I go every day to see her, and help out as much as I can, but the main problem is the nights, where neither of them are getting any sleep. I have offered to have baby here, with or without my daughter, simply to give her a break, but she says we are breaking the rules and will be liable for a £1500 fine. Frankly, I think this is unlikely, and, like her, I have been assiduously following protocol during lockdown. She is becoming more and more depressed, and I am beginning to really worry about her. Would be helpful to know what others think, many thanks.

Daftbag1 Tue 09-Jun-20 16:46:42

I'm not a professional, but unless your daughter and her partner have additional needs I'd have said th a t you are 'loving too much'! Whilst I understand your being so physically involved for the first few days, I'd be very uncomfortable your spending the day, all day, every day.

You are not this baby's parent, the baby has 2 parents. I think most of us have had sleepless nights for weeks at a time when our children were babies, it's part and parcel of being a parent. To me, you have confused your role and however well intentioned, you have now started to take over as mother for this baby, during the period when they should be bonding.

Please be a gran, offer to help, but step back, get them to talk to their health visitor or GP as others have. Suggested, the all night crying may be any number of reasons, let the professionals take over.

And maybe there are other things that you could do to fill that void that you must feel now that your daughter has moved on to the next stage of her life.

f77ms Tue 09-Jun-20 16:04:42