Gransnet forums

Education

School appeal cancelled yet again

(21 Posts)
MissAdventure Tue 11-Jul-17 19:40:55

Oh dear. I'm so sorry. I thought I had started a new thread! As you were, ladies. Sorry gillybob. blush

MissAdventure Tue 11-Jul-17 19:39:46

Missing school due to parents illness.
Has anyone any inside knowledge which might help in this situation, please?
It seems that its perfectly ok for my grandson to miss days from school when his mum is too poorly to take him. The Senco officer (I think that's the name) said that they aren't worried, as they know he isn't playing truant, and the school are unable to help in any way.
I've checked online, and can only find info for if its the child who is poorly; nothing regarding the parent.
Would be so very grateful for some advice, or even sympathy!

SueinHull Sun 20-Nov-16 14:30:36

Sorry for your trauma gillybob. I was a School Appeal Officer working for our local LEA. At the time no more than 30 children could be admitted into primary classes. You can appeal but likely dismissed because of this. Whatever your grounds are....if you feel the school has broken the law then you MUST contact the Ombudsman. They will thoroughly check all the procedures. There is also no guarantee of "feeder school" admissions either for secondary schools. It is useful to have your local MP with you for support, but they cannot change the decision of the panel. However if you go through appeal you can request a place on the waiting list at your preferred school. In our LEA there was alot of movement of children and people left frequently. I have re-read your last post Gillybob, I hope you got the conclusion you wanted. But please please contact the Ombudsmen if you felt proceedings were not legal. Good luck.

gillybob Wed 12-Oct-16 08:18:49

Just a quick update to say that the appeals finally went ahead yesterday. My DDIL and I both feel like we were criminals in a court . They lasted from 11.15 until 3pm .