Gransnet forums

Education

The Open University

(16 Posts)
grannyactivist Wed 09-May-18 16:39:32

I studied Social Psychology with the Open University in the 1980's and just had a look to see what it would cost if I took the course now and it's eye wateringly expensive:
At current prices, the total cost of your qualification would be £17,568

nightswimmer Wed 09-May-18 15:17:32

Very sad the way this has gone, so many interesting courses have been cut and the fees are now eye watering. A bit less if you live in Wales, Scotland or N. Ireland I believe (correct me if I am wrong)?

annodomini Sun 15-Apr-18 14:55:45

I came to realise, belatedly, that I should have done languages for my first degree, rather than English, which I did. So, when I heard that the OU was starting language courses, I applied straight away and thoroughly enjoyed those three years for the Diploma in French, including summer schools at Caen which were fun and very informative. Some years later, I decided to take a course in Creative Writing which I enjoyed for the interaction with other students on line, thought the tutor was not up to the usual OU standard. Much as I'd like to do one of their short courses, I can't now afford them, though they were a lifeline for me and many others.

Izabella Sun 15-Apr-18 13:47:59

I did arts and science degrees with the OU. My original vocational degree was at an actual university. Several decades between the first and subsequent ones. My observations are how 'political' the OU was in comparison and I almost felt I had to submit work presented from an 'approved' viewpoint. However reading about current university items in the media I think it is probably fair to say it is a fairly widespread phenomenon. An MA was struggled through from a financial point of view and I am sad about what I see as the impending demise of the OU which was such a positive innovation from Harold Wilson.

Teetime Sun 15-Apr-18 10:24:17