Gransnet forums

Food

How long can I keep haddock?

(55 Posts)
chickenlegs Thu 13-Apr-17 16:13:45

I'm a very nervous cook but have invited two friends for dinner on Saturday night. I'm serving a dish of "Herb-crusted Haddock". Can I buy the haddock tomorrow (Friday) and not cook it until Saturday night, please?

Grannyknot Thu 13-Apr-17 16:16:42

I'm sure that will be fine - but why don't you ask the fishmonger in the shop? Enjoy your dinner party.

jollyg Thu 13-Apr-17 16:19:52

Bear in mind that it might have been caught a week ago, albeit well chilled with ice.

I think you will be fine, but some folk are funny re fish.

Only you know your friends and their picky ways/ or not.

Go for it.

Did you buy from a fishmonger or supermarket?

MawBroon Thu 13-Apr-17 16:26:16

Will a fishmonger be open on Good Friday?
You would need to know how long it has been kept chilled/frozen.

MawBroon Thu 13-Apr-17 16:27:23

If you are buying from a supermarket it should be fine if it goes straight into the fridge, they are generally fastidiousness about freshness.

MawBroon Thu 13-Apr-17 16:27:51

Fastidious not fastidiousness blush

Ana Thu 13-Apr-17 16:28:53

Yes, it will be fine for a couple of days in the fridge.

Jalima1108 Thu 13-Apr-17 17:12:28

The fishmonger should be able to tell you the 'use by' date.
It should be fine as I expect they will be getting in quite a lot of fresh fish for Good Friday.

M0nica Thu 13-Apr-17 17:24:32

Until it smells and feels slimy.

TriciaF Thu 13-Apr-17 18:21:11

"Benjamin Franklin famously said that guests, like fish, begin to smell after three days."
But whether that means 3 days since the fish came out of the sea, or out of the freezer, I don't know.

janeainsworth Thu 13-Apr-17 18:53:00

Smoked haddock will keep longer than unsmoked, chickenlegs.
Are you doing that dDelia recipe with breadcrumbs, parsley and Parmesan?

grannypiper Thu 13-Apr-17 20:49:04