Gransnet forums

Food

I wonder if Grandmanorm still looks in on Gransnet. (Christmas cake recipe contributor)

(28 Posts)
Gonegirl Thu 01-Nov-18 12:40:04

I've been making her delicious Christmas Cake for several years now. I don't think it can be beaten. ?https://www.gransnet.com/recipes/dish/5718-Christmas-cake-recipe

Gonegirl Thu 01-Nov-18 12:41:25

I've no idea how to make that link work. www.gransnet.com/recipes/dish/5718-Christmas-cake-recipe

Gonegirl Thu 01-Nov-18 12:41:42

Yay!

oldbatty Fri 02-Nov-18 19:34:40

Ah, I was contemplating trying to make a cake, maybe Delia's Creole cake. But this one comes highly recommended?

Gonegirl Fri 02-Nov-18 19:38:03

Oh yes. It's a classic.

Gonegirl Fri 02-Nov-18 19:41:55

Oh I could so eat a bit now!

oldbatty Fri 02-Nov-18 19:48:05

Is it idiot proof?

Telly Fri 02-Nov-18 19:53:11

My go to cake is Delias, but perhaps this might be worth a try!

Buffybee Fri 02-Nov-18 20:03:21

Might have a go at this. I like the idea of someone in 1966 getting the recipe from her friends Grandmother. So the recipe, I guess must be about 100 years old.
Perfect to make in year of the 100 year celebration of the end of the war.
The only thing I don't understand is the double layers of brown paper, won't it burn?
Btw I've only ever made one Christmas Cake before, about 40 years ago. ?

Gonegirl Fri 02-Nov-18 20:51:32

No, the paper doesn't burn. It stops the outside of the cake over-cooking while the middle bit cooks through. You always put double brown paper round the tin with a Xmas cake. Tie it with string.

Buffybee Fri 02-Nov-18 23:51:13

Ok! Will do! Thanks!
Wish me luck! ?

mumofmadboys Sat 03-Nov-18 08:33:17

I made ours yesterday from an old Stork recipe book I always use. Looks almost identical.

Maggiemaybe Sat 03-Nov-18 08:53:29