Gransnet forums


Knorr have confirmed that their Herbal Infusion stockpots are not suitable for vegetarians

(37 Posts)
Wolwol Sat 18-Mar-23 21:32:05

Just in case anyone else is interested...

Although the ingredients seemed vegetarian to me, the product description didn't specify suitable for vegetarians. I asked via their site, and have had a quick and clear response which I appreciate 😊

FannyCornforth Sun 19-Mar-23 12:04:11

Cheese hot cross buns are a ‘thing’, I don’t add cheese and marmite to ordinary hot cross buns! smile

Farzanah Sun 19-Mar-23 12:27:53

I didn’t read the cheese bit of the hot X buns Fanny which may be a bit better with marmite, but still a marginal popular taste choice I would think. Perhaps not.
Why muck around with the trad hotX bun 🤔?

FannyCornforth Sun 19-Mar-23 12:33:11

I’m definitely a more savoury type Farzanah, in fact I’m a devil for cheese. 🧀 😈

It’s more like a muffin really.

Farzanah Sun 19-Mar-23 12:37:50

I like cheese. I’ll give them a try 😀
Sans marmite!

FannyCornforth Sun 19-Mar-23 12:40:51

Farzanah I had to talk myself out of adding dairylea 🙄

Wolwol Tue 21-Mar-23 02:00:04

Thanks all.

@Baggs they didn't say, a basic 'not suitable' message. Quick and appreciated reply though.

I've replied to the 'how did we do survey', poor on whether I'd recommend, highish on service.

Other of their products have been marked as vegetarian friendly/suitable , which is why I questioned, in case it was an oversight.

I didn't like Kallo when I tried them, so back to Hendo's, Marmite, miso, veg water for my veg soups, no problem smile

Current goto breakfast is quick - no prove no knead - Guinness and cheddar bread, Marmite, brie, poached

NotSpaghetti Wed 29-Mar-23 17:41:50

I have had an email from them after I contacted them about tjis product.
They say this stockpot is actually ^vegan*
Thought some of you might like to know.

NotSpaghetti Wed 29-Mar-23 17:45:37

This is their response in case you are interested:

Hello from Knorr,

Thank you for your patience whilst we've been looking into your query.
I can confirm that Herb Infusion Stock Pots are suitable for vegans.

Should you require more information, please feel free to contact us by email or webform via the following link:

Yours sincerely,
Consumer Engagement Centre Adviser

Smileless2012 Wed 29-Mar-23 17:46:58

Thanks for letting us know Wolwol. I've used them in the past when cooking for vegetarian friends; wont be doing so again.

Just noticed your post NotSpaghetti, are you talking about their Herbal Infusion stockpots?confused.

Smileless2012 Wed 29-Mar-23 17:48:08

Apologies, your post states you are; even moreconfused.

Elegran Thu 30-Mar-23 10:40:01


What a very unhealthy list of ingredients give me Marmite every time.

If you mean the list I posted of ingredients in the Herbal Infusion, there is nothing wrong with most of the ingredients individually. Yeast extract IS Marmite, or a similar product, xanthan gum and locust bean gum are used in a lot of products to gell them. Potassium chloride is being used instead of sodium chloride (common salt), and is often used medically as a substitute.
The one ingredient (apart from the "flavourings" which legally have to be ones that are permitted and tested) which you could take exception to is palm fat. According to Harvard University, ^"Food manufacturers and restaurants have needed to find alternatives [to trans fats]. It's less saturated than butter and contains no trans fat. But just because it's not as bad as trans fat doesn't make it a health food. According to Harvard nutrition experts, palm oil is clearly better than high–trans fat shortenings and probably a better choice than butter."