Gransnet forums

Gardening

Sweet pea seeds

(31 Posts)
Luckygirl Sun 10-Mar-19 15:52:35

OK - there they are - growing brilliantly after about 2 weeks. One stem, healthy and upright with two little leaves on the top - I, as a total novice, am delighted, and the GC are thrilled!

They are in a tray with very deep sections, similar to those in which some were growing when given by a friend last year - and they went straight in the ground from there.

Do I "pinch them out"? Do I just go on being nice to them and see what happens? They look very healthy.

Gettingitrightoneday Sun 10-Mar-19 16:16:35

LuckyGirl. I have just found a lot of small seedlings in a pot with with my honeysuckle.

I did not put them there. I suspect that the warm spell might have put them into growth. I think the seedlings might be last year Sunflower seeds.

This sudden bitter cold is not going to do them any good though

I am not very good at growing from seeds at all.

tanith Sun 10-Mar-19 16:25:39

I too have sweet peas and sunflowers seeds that have sprouted I’ll pinch the tips out when they are about 6ins tall.
The sunflowers I’ve actually put them out in the ground now and covered them with leaves for a little protection not sure if they’ll do ok though.

Luckygirl Sun 10-Mar-19 17:07:21

Do you pinch the sweet peas out even if there are no other leaves down the main stem?

Farmor15 Sun 10-Mar-19 17:16:08

Hint for those who haven’t planted sweet peas yet - collect cardboard inners from toilet paper (ask friends and family to save) put in plastic tray and fill with compost. Put 2 or 3 seeds about a inch down in each. When big enough to plant out, each roll inner can be put in ground as they are, so roots aren’t disturbed.

I think Monty Don suggested this last year.

Farmor15 Sun 10-Mar-19 17:18:46

Well done Luckygirl for giving seed growing a try. It’s. very satisfying ?. I wouldn’t do any pinching out yet.

Luckygirl Sun 10-Mar-19 17:37:35

I have the loo rolls too!