Gransnet forums

Gardening

On a lighter note….Gardeners World returns tonight.

(82 Posts)
merlotgran Fri 11-Mar-22 09:19:49

And I cannot wait!

Just as in the first Lockdown, Monty’s calming presence, beautiful garden and lovely dogs should help to raise our spirits.

I was without a garden for six months of last year so now I’m raring to go in my new one.

Looking at the weather it won’t be today though. ?

Whitewavemark2 Tue 22-Mar-22 08:47:52

Gertrude Jekyll was my model but it is very much more difficult than it looks I think.

merlotgran Tue 22-Mar-22 08:46:12

Whitewavemark2

That lady with her detailed plan of her glorious garden, reminded me of the plans drawn up by Gertrude Jekyll.

But I’m more like Monty said he was. I try to have a plan in my head but constantly moving stuff and changing things.

I did a garden design diploma in the middle year of studying for the RHS diploma (one day a week at hort. college.) It was pre software days and all our planting plans were expected to emulate Gertrude Jekyll.

Oh the headaches, trying to envisage the final picture. ?

toscalily Tue 22-Mar-22 08:22:52

Whitewavemark2, that is a beautiful photo. Spring at it's finest.

toscalily Tue 22-Mar-22 08:21:13

Finally caught up with this last night as Mr TL was wallowing in F1 Sat & Sun evening. I thought the chap up the tree was a bit reckless, no doubt the cameraman was scared stiff he might have to call an ambulance. I like to see the viewers gardens, even if it is not my style I can appreciate what they have done and their enjoyment in their own little plot. I could never be that organised with planning a garden, I'm more pop it in and fingers crossed.

Whitewavemark2 Tue 22-Mar-22 05:02:43

That lady with her detailed plan of her glorious garden, reminded me of the plans drawn up by Gertrude Jekyll.

But I’m more like Monty said he was. I try to have a plan in my head but constantly moving stuff and changing things.

merlotgran Mon 21-Mar-22 19:15:02