Gransnet forums

Gardening

Alsteromeria

(28 Posts)
Kate1949 Wed 03-Aug-22 11:24:29

These are my favourite flowers. This year we treated ourselves to a plant from a garden centre. It wasn't exactly cheap but it's been a disaster. The instructions are ground or pot. We've looked after it the same as our other plants. Does anyone know what we can do to save it? Thanks.

lixy Wed 03-Aug-22 11:35:52

They are beautiful and really good 'do-ers'.

I am no expert but I wonder if the pot is in full sun and the roots got too hot in recent days?

I think this is what happened to my canna lily and it has revived now I have moved it so the pot is shaded by another one in front of it.
Good luck!

Nightsky2 Wed 03-Aug-22 11:43:12

Kate1949

These are my favourite flowers. This year we treated ourselves to a plant from a garden centre. It wasn't exactly cheap but it's been a disaster. The instructions are ground or pot. We've looked after it the same as our other plants. Does anyone know what we can do to save it? Thanks.

I planted some in the garden as they were beautiful in April May and June. Not looking so good now.
They grew to about 16/18 inches. They should be wonderful next year. I do love them.

Kate1949 Wed 03-Aug-22 11:43:17

Thank you lixy. It is in the sun but we keep it well watered. We'll try moving it.

Nightsky2 Wed 03-Aug-22 11:44:36

Kate1949

Maybe plant them in the garden like I did.

Kate1949 Wed 03-Aug-22 11:45:04

Nightsky Thank you. Maybe that's the problem. We intend to put it in the ground at the end of the summer. I'll see how it goes.

LauraNorderr Wed 03-Aug-22 11:45:36

Mine is just in compost on a north east facing wall so morning sun only, bigger pot.

LauraNorderr Wed 03-Aug-22 11:47:01

Finishing now having been battered by wind last few days

Kate1949 Wed 03-Aug-22 11:48:34

That's beautiful Laura.

foxie48 Wed 03-Aug-22 11:50:02