Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Dyslexia

(42 Posts)
broomsticks Wed 05-Dec-12 10:30:27

Hi, I used to be a dyslexia teacher (sorry my husband says I should say a teacher of dyslexic learners otherwise it sounds bad!). Still doing a bit as a volunteer. Anyone else got the same experience?

crimson Wed 05-Dec-12 11:38:07

It concerned me when my children were young [@ 25 years ag] that a good friend who was a headmistress of a primary school said to me one day that there was no such thing as dyslexia. Those words stuck in my mind; thankfully my two never had a problem, although a child I looked after for a while was dyslexic. I didn't agree with her at the time but I wonder how and when attitudes changes to dyslexia. It must have been awful for the children. I know some parents who struggled for years trying to convince the authorities that their child had a problem.

Greatnan Wed 05-Dec-12 11:56:58

I am glad to say that when I was Head of the Wirral Schools Remedial Service, serving every primary and middle school in the Wirral, we gave a course for 16 teachers a term on the teaching of reading, with a special module on dyslexia. I also helped the local Dyslexia group and converted the headteachers who also thought it was a middle-class excuse for less talented children.
I was very well aware of the reality of the problem, as my own daughter suffered from it, in spite of being highly intelligent. Unfortunately, her comprehensive school failed to recognise it and she was put into the bottom stream where she got bored and started being a nuisance. Three of her four children are also dyslexic, but they were luckier with their schools and had some one to one teaching. The internet has been a boon - one grand-daughter, who has two children, is studying for a degree with the OU and finds Spellcheck invaluable.

broomsticks Wed 05-Dec-12 11:59:30