Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Why so little about Grandads?

(18 Posts)
grandparentsunited Fri 01-Mar-13 21:54:15

I've self-published 'Grandad's Tips for Bringing Up Kids' by Dudley Jones. I'm a retired Uni lecturer with 3 grandchildren. About 3 years ago, I decided to write a book passing on tips I'd acquired as a parent and grandparent and also drawing on 40 years teaching experience in schools and teacher education. As I worked on the book, it seemed as if every week, a new parenting manual appeared. Sue Maushart (Winter of our Diconnect), Pamela Druckerman (French Children don't throw Food) and Amy Chua (Tiger Mum). Clearly a challenge to the laissez-faire, child-centred approach that has held sway since the 60s was happening. I finished 'Grandad's Tips' and then - though I'd previously published 2 successful books - found the publishing climate had become much chillier for authors. I'm happy to start a debate about parenting based on these new books (and even my!) Sorry about not being a Grandma, folks. Am I entitled to be a Gransnetter?

gracesmum Fri 01-Mar-13 22:03:01

Gosh, I don't know, Grandparentsunited - maybe you could start a thread on Gransnet and tell them all about it. It sounds fascinating and I am sure GNetters would be interested. You don't have to be a Grandma to be on GN - look at Pete, Gramps, HunterF and even Ivanhoe (or perhaps not) as shining examples.
So welcome to GN!

grumppa Fri 01-Mar-13 22:10:43

I'm a grandad and happy and comfortable on Gransnet. So far Gransnetters seem happy with me!

j08 Fri 01-Mar-13 22:19:22

Feel free to join. Can 't wait. hmm

harrigran Fri 01-Mar-13 22:21:51

You are plugging your book grandparentsunited hmm

annodomini Fri 01-Mar-13 22:42:50

Perhaps you ought to ask GNHQ if it's OK for you to do this - it does smack of plugging, though I am sure we would find common ground with you as, amongst us, there is a wealth of experience in child rearing and education.

absent Sat 02-Mar-13 07:20:11