Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

how often do you see your grandchildren?

(33 Posts)
shazzy69 Fri 31-Jan-14 03:05:04

I posted on here recently about my feelings for dil and thanks to all the good advice was helped enormously. I am new to being a grandmother as my dgd is only 7 months old and I find myself feeling guilty that we only see her every few months (which seems a long time when she is only months old). My son works away from home for four weeks then has a week at home and they live a two hour drive from us. My dil sends texts and photos of dgd usually every week and we stay in touch that way. MY son doesn't very often contact us but will usually answer texts although sometimes two days later. They are quite private people and keep themselves to themselves and as he is only home for one week I can quite understand they don't really need visitors especially as dh will only visit if we stay the night as he feels its too far for a couple of hours. If we invite ourselves they are quite welcoming but I don't want to intrude. On the otherhand I don't want them to think we are not interested in their lives especially dgd's. I have a good relationship with ds but he is not much of a communicator and doesn't really like talking on the phone and if I'm honest neither do I. Much rather talk in person. Is it ok to just see them when they initiate it? Any advice?

annodomini Wed 05-Feb-14 12:00:16

I am looking forward to the day when they're big enough to travel by train to see me. I think senior GD might bring younger one with her sometime when she comes north to see mates. The things that get in the way are all those weekend activities - Friday night skiing (no kidding), Scouts; Sunday night swimming.

broomsticks Wed 05-Feb-14 11:14:26

We are in about the same situation as FlicketyB about 4 to 5 hours drive away from our grandchildren. I suppose we see them about every 6 weeks.