Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Heart surgery

(14 Posts)
megan123 Fri 01-Feb-19 12:02:46

Luba - can't offer any practical advice on this, but I wish you and your family well flowers

Izabella Fri 01-Feb-19 11:26:05

Mumof3 so agree with your last paragraph. I worked in adult ITU for a while so understand your reasoning

Momof3 Thu 31-Jan-19 22:47:16

Hi I’m a paediatric intensive care nurse the first thing I would say is that Great Ormond street is fantastic and your little DGS will be very well taken care off.

The practicalities on ITU your daughter will not be able to sleep be able to sleep next to her son. She should be given a room and will be encouraged to go and have a good rest.

On the wards she’ll be able to sleep next to him and will probably keep the room.

You will be able to stay with your daughter in the room so don’t worry about finding alternative accommodation.

Excuse me for prying though is your daughter’s partner ok with not being at the hospital especially if he is your DGS father, my apologies for asking I have had a child in intensive care there is no way my husband would not have been there. Is there the option for you to stay with the other child and the partner to be at the hospital. Again my apologies for prying.

Luba Thu 31-Jan-19 22:34:35

Dragonfly46...yes they do have places I'm not really sure about it. There is an accommodation page which I will have to look into. I'm much better having a verbal conversation with someone in the know so it's clear in my head and I can jot down notes
Thank once again dragonfly46 ?

dragonfly46 Thu 31-Jan-19 20:48:29

I really cannot offer you any practical advice but I do wish you all well. Maybe the hospital has a list of suitable accommodation as I expect this arises all the time.

Luba Thu 31-Jan-19 20:42:37

Oh my goodness I feel totally overwhelmed by all your lovely messages ?