Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Oh - the angst !

(37 Posts)
hazel93 Wed 17-Jul-19 11:26:28

I'm a newbie so forgive me if this topic has been covered ad infinitum !
Long story short, over the moon to have become a grandparent last October. My son and DIL live locally so I have been involved since her birth and regularly babysit.
She is now, of course, crawling at super speed and standing alone albeit a tad wobbly. Normally she gently lowers her bottom to resume crawling . This time , whilst in my care , she face planted ! Screams and small red mark on her forehead .As a parent, I would have simply "kissed it better" and thought no more of it, as a grandparent I was mortified - am I the only one ?

JackyB Sun 21-Jul-19 11:18:20

I once discovered a scar on the back of my head. I was told that my cousin had dropped me when I was a baby.

He was 15 years older than me and was always very protective of me after that.

hazel93 Sun 21-Jul-19 10:21:26

I really was not concerned regarding her parents reaction, as expected they were totally sanguine.
It was my feeling of guilt and ineptitude that I was not expecting !!
No doubt I will learn to relax in the future, at least I hope to !

Evie64 Fri 19-Jul-19 17:47:15

I used to be very overprotective of my two daughters, but now I work part time in a primary school, I see bumps, scratches, grazes, bites and the occasional greenstick fracture that I realise it's completely normal. Little human beings will trip, fall and occasionally fight. That's part of growing up and luckily the majority of our parents are very blase about their children's injuries and take them in their stride.

SueDoku Fri 19-Jul-19 17:31:53