Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Am I being unreasonable expecting a small gift from my adult grandchildren?

(47 Posts)
Yanene Thu 11-Feb-21 12:33:15

Hi I’m new to this so bear with me please. We have always been very involved with our two adult grandchildren and love them dearly. We have always been financially supportive of them, helping them over the years whilst they were at uni, even helping with housing deposits. It was our birthdays a couple of weeks ago and although they both sent a card neither bothered with even a token gift of sweets or even wine. Neither of them are short of money and we do not expect or want gratitude it just felt like they couldn’t be bothered. I guess I’m more hurt than anything and wonder if I’m being unfair and expecting too much, I know they are both busy.

Calendargirl Thu 11-Feb-21 12:40:18

Do they live away? With current restrictions, perhaps they will bring something later on when they are able to visit.

keepingquiet Thu 11-Feb-21 12:41:32

People can't shop in the way they could during Covid. I haven't even sent cards during lockdown as I have all my shopping delivered. However, I do ring of I can and wish them a happy birthday directly.
It could be they can't be bothered.
Maybe you could take more of an interest in them, too? Send a message thanking them for the card which is a signal they were thinking of you.
We are living through hard times any any support we offer each other will be appreciated more than criticism.

Septimia Thu 11-Feb-21 12:44:29

I don't think you're unreasonable but maybe unrealistic! The chances are that they just didn't think. At least they remembered, which is something to be thankful for.

Perhaps, when you are able to meet up you could watch for the opportunity to insert a comment into the conversation along the lines of 'I do enjoy getting flowers on special occasions' or 'I love it when I get a box of chocolates for my birthday'. But they probably won't even register that!