Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Confused Nannie

(20 Posts)
Bungle Sat 29-May-21 09:36:37

Hi there, I'm new to gransnet so this is my first post.
I have a 2 year old granddaughter I look after 2 days per week, whilst my daughter and son in law are at work.
My granddaughter is quite strong willed so they are quite tiring days, but am happy to look after her and give them this help.
What I'm confused about is as much as I love her, when my daughter asks me to have my GD on a bank holiday or the weekend I don't want to and this makes me feel guilty. I don't understand why I feel so disinclined to look after her more.
So I end up feeling rotten for trying to make excuses. Does anyone else feel this way ?

EllanVannin Sat 29-May-21 09:46:28

This isn't fair and you should make your DD understand that weekends and Bank Holidays are your times.
Tell them that you've made other arrangements.
2 year olds can be full-on at the best of times and if you have one who is wilful it makes the job of looking after them much harder.

I know that a refusal can be difficult for you but better to say something now than have a feeling of resent creeping in.

Shropshirelass Sat 29-May-21 09:48:56

My friend refused to look after her grandchildren too often saying that she had done her time raising children and they were her children’s responsibility. She was quite adamant about it.

timetogo2016 Sat 29-May-21 09:52:43

Spot on EllanVannin.
The more you do the more they let you.

Polarbear2 Sat 29-May-21 09:53:17

Say no, but there’s no need for a drama. Just laugh and say sorry love she wears me out. I’m getting old! My DD asks me sometimes but there’s no expectations. It’s just an ask. I think if you keep these things light it’s much easier. Btw 2 year olds are tough. It gets a bit easier past 3 in my experience Good luck. Make sure you enjoy the time. It won’t come back.

Sara1954 Sat 29-May-21 09:58:22