Gransnet forums

Health

Horrible skin scabs

(29 Posts)
Alexa Tue 19-Nov-19 12:11:36

I have several of these brown rough areas. i asked the practice nurse if the doctor would remove them for me, she said the doctor would just laugh at me .

Now I have a small one just below my eye and I'd like it removed before it gets any bigger. Should I ask the GP, or try to get it done by some beauty therapist?

GrandmaJan Tue 19-Nov-19 12:18:55

It would be very unprofessional if your GP laughed at you and I don’t think the practice nurse was at all professional either. I work as a nurse in a GP surgery and if I’d seen you I would have advised you to see the GP. You don’t know what it is or what is causing it. Make an appointment but not with a beauty therapist until you know what it is.

Liz46 Tue 19-Nov-19 12:20:22

I've got some of these on my back. It is wise to get them checked but as long as the nurse of doctor is not concerned about them, it's probably best to ignore them. I also have one just below my eye. One of the joys of ageing!

Fennel Tue 19-Nov-19 12:25:41

I have a few of those too. One of them, on my chest, was quite big and daughter made me go to the practise nurse who removed it herself. Painless.
This was over 20 years ago.

fiorentina51 Tue 19-Nov-19 12:40:37

Could be a form of sun damage common in we old folk. Get a professional opinion. I had one on my face which I had removed.

annsixty Tue 19-Nov-19 12:43:36

My friend has one on her face.
The GP said it could be removed but she would have to pay.
I think this is fair when very necessary ops are being delayed for lack of money.

Hetty58 Tue 19-Nov-19 12:48:51

I'd be asking my GP to refer me to a dermatologist.

Teetime Tue 19-Nov-19 14:13:26

Indeed its a dermatologist you need but it may have to be private if the NHS feels you are not in clinical need and its only aesthetic. If it were me and it was facial I would pay to have it done.

Gonegirl Tue 19-Nov-19 14:17:16