Gransnet forums

Health

Pre op assessment and DNR question

(16 Posts)
Thistledown Thu 27-May-21 22:26:27

I am having to undergo gynae surgery soon and at the pre op assessment the nurse asked me if I wanted a DNR on my notes. I was taken aback as I am a healthy 66 year old....but she said she had to ask.
Has anyone else been asked this as I don’t believe this is a routine question for every patient being admitted for surgery.
As a former theatre nurse I don’t recall this question ever being asked of healthy patients.
Basically then when you get to a certain age regardless of health you’re considered worthless.
This is a private hospital not the NHS so I’m not sure if they ask that same question there.

Peasblossom Thu 27-May-21 23:10:55

Covering their backs against legal action.

Cases have been brought where patients who have been resuscitated have sued over broken ribs or where a family sued because the patient was brain damaged through lack of oxygen before resuscitation and then needed ongoing care.

As a medical practitioner you’ll know the risks that come with resuscitation.

They now have a record of your decision and you are responsible for the outcome of your decision.

Medicine’s a minefield.

Ladyleftfieldlover Thu 27-May-21 23:13:30

I had a partial knee replacement at a private hospital 3 weeks ago. I am 68 and was not asked about DNR.

B9exchange Thu 27-May-21 23:50:45

Seems very strange to me, not usually routine unless you have a life limiting illness.

welbeck Fri 28-May-21 00:07:31

you could query their policy on this.
via complaints procedure.
good luck, and with the op.

Izabella Fri 28-May-21 13:08:11

It is something you should think about. I have one in place.

Justwidowed Fri 28-May-21 13:15:04

I was asked very recently when I was in hospital ,I said no .I am 77 .

mokryna Fri 28-May-21 13:17:55