Gransnet forums

House and home

new kitchen, not enough worktop space

(47 Posts)
craftyone Sat 16-Mar-19 14:26:29

My last downsize soon, a new house and a kitchen designed by someone else. Kitchen width is 11`. I have tall units, fridge and oven on one side. Then there are patio doors, turn right and on the other window wall there is a tall cupboard containing a boiler, a small sink unit with a half bowl (unwanted) waste disposal, a dish washer under a top, a corner unit and then it turns into a right angled peninsula, containing a hob and a tiny rounded corner cupboard. The workspace over the peninsula has a breakfast bar. That is all the workspace I have and I am a baker and a cook with appliances that are heavy and I need to leave out

Can I pick your brains please? All I can think of doing is to get a decent sized heavy trolley on locking castors. Do you think that would be ok in the space between the two runs of units?

phoenix Sat 16-Mar-19 14:30:19

A photo might help, craftyone smile

Hilltopgran Sat 16-Mar-19 14:46:38

There is nothing worse than not enough workspace, but having said that I agree it is important to be able to leave your various accessories out on the tops for ease of use. Some kitchens have pull out table tops that can give you extra space for specific tasks, could you have something fitted to suit after you move in? My worktop space is very limited and I have learnt to manage, a tiered tray can help with somewhere to put things, a trolley to load up with ingredients before you start that can go away when not in use can also help. I have also seen wooden boards that can cover your sink to make it useable space when required. I hope you enjoy your new home and find you can workout a suitable compromise for the work area.

EllanVannin Sat 16-Mar-19 15:22:33

No matter how large a kitchen is there's never enough workspace----not for me anyway the way I spread things around when cooking or baking.

aggie Sat 16-Mar-19 15:57:47