Gransnet forums

House and home

Find my home in history

(31 Posts)
Mattsmum2 Sun 16-Jan-22 19:42:26

Hi has anyone managed to find the history and occupants of their current home? I thought it would be fairly easy to find something online and free but not so. My house was built in the early 1800's and it would be nice to know who lived in it way back.

Ilovecheese Sun 16-Jan-22 19:44:12

The Land Registry will have the information but you have to pay.

ayse Sun 16-Jan-22 20:02:28

There may be a way of tracking down the address via the census’ from 1841 onwards but I have no experience of searching that way. Local directories could also help or even the electoral role.

Try signing up to familytree forum. It’s free and there are experienced researchers there who may be able to help.

thorns2roses Sun 16-Jan-22 20:11:05

Hello Mattsmum2. You should be able to track the occupants of your home from the census's: 1841 to 1911. Our local libraries have free basic access to Ancestry. From home look up Free Cen. If the volunteers who operate this site have covered your area you should be able to track some census information.

Look for online local Records Offices in your area to see what they have. For example if your home is in the North East go to County Durham Records Office online. Click on 'Our Records'. On the next page (left column) is an interactive map link to historic maps through the years; it operates with a toggle feature revealing an up to date map. So you might be able to follow the space from green fields through various developments. You have to zoom in to a certain distance to get it to work and it is a bit fiddly but great once you get the hang of it. Also ask on family history message boards for advice.

trisher Sun 16-Jan-22 20:17:18