Gransnet forums

House and home

Batch cooking - ideas please

(74 Posts)
Skydancer Tue 14-Feb-23 11:48:37

Many posters have mentioned that they batch cook. What sort of thing? Ideas please - I haven't a clue. Presumably cook a large amount of something and then freeze some of it? I am a very unimaginative cook.

NotSpaghetti Tue 14-Feb-23 11:56:48

Pretty much anything you generally like to eat that isn't super-quick in the first place?

dogsmother Tue 14-Feb-23 12:01:50

Chilli con carne.
Bolognese sauce.
Lasagna vegetable or not.
Casseroles.
The list goes on.

ParlorGames Tue 14-Feb-23 12:02:17

Just what NotSpaghetti says really..............any dish that you like which takes time to cook either in small portions or in multiple portions............hence the name "batch cooking". This saves time and energy and you have a home cooked dish for another day.

midgey Tue 14-Feb-23 12:09:38

If you are on your own just cook as if the family were coming and freeze the extra meals!

SueDonim Tue 14-Feb-23 12:16:53

I’ve got bought a cook book by the Batch Lady. She has a website with free recipes on it. thebatchlady.com/

It’s really aimed at families but it’s easy to adapt the recipes to make the amount you want.

Norah Tue 14-Feb-23 14:16:13

Curry
Bolognese
Soup or stew (potato is particularly good easy and forgiving)
Casseroles
Pizza crusts (baked, ready to quickly assemble)
Tofu, pressed, marinated, cubed, fried (large quantities, one go)
Dhal, pulses, all sort of beans

Really, any food you long-cook. I freeze everything, even one or 2 servings left after a meal. Remove from freezer in morn - allow plenty of time to thaw.

Galaxy Tue 14-Feb-23 14:19:51

Thanks so much for that Sue, that looks really interesting.

kittylester Tue 14-Feb-23 14:31:08

Paprika chicken
Sausagemeat sauce for pasta
Sausages in onion gravy
Soup
Cakes
Scones

M0nica Tue 14-Feb-23 14:34:03