Gransnet forums

House and home

Lincolnshire Norfolk or Suffolk

(125 Posts)
Fringe Sat 24-Feb-24 16:16:34

Hi I am new to this but I must say I have found some of the threads very interesting and helpful.
My husband and I are looking to relocate to one of the above areas later this year but we cannot make our minds up, even though we have visited and stayed in Suffolk and Norfolk a few times. Haven't been to Lincolnshire but plan to go up in April.
We were looking at areas like Wainsfleet, Orby, Spilsby or Anderby Creek in Lincolnshire. Blundeston, or Lowestoft in Suffolk but haven't really found anything we like in Norfolk as yet.
Can anyone tell me anything about the areas I have mentioned or can recommend any other areas that are nice or should avoid?

Glorianny Sat 24-Feb-24 16:21:45

I don't know Lincolnshire that well. But I would warn anyone looking at that area of the East Coast to check carefully for flooding. Some of it is very low lying.

Cossy Sat 24-Feb-24 16:22:22

Quite a few places in Lincolnshire to avoid around the Boston area and Mabelthorpe and Skegness, but there are some lovely villages too, especially around Bourne and on the Norfolk/Lincs border. We love most of Norfolk, we’ve stayed lots of times and are considering relocating from Essex to Norfolk. We have stayed in many areas, Heacham and Sherringham have lovely beaches, Thetford Forest is surrounded by little villages and we also like areas around Kings Lynn and Swaffham and love Norwich. In Suffolk we love the areas around Constable country, Essex/Suffolk border and Southwold.

Good luck in your search.

nandad Sat 24-Feb-24 16:30:03

Anywhere that is walking distance to shops with good public transport.
Can’t really advise about the areas you are interested in, sorry.

SusieB50 Sat 24-Feb-24 16:31:40