Gransnet forums

News & politics

Cuts ,just had this sent from my cousin in Manchester .

(66 Posts)
paddyann Fri 09-Nov-18 11:09:35

I am Mark Rowe I have been a firefighter in Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service for 28yrs and I will not remain silent.

Most organisations have a social media policy but sometimes there are some things that are so important they must be said regardless of any personal consequences. If anybody wishes to report me to my employer please feel free to do so because the things I am about to say I believe to be undisputed facts. I am the Brigade Secretary of Merseyside Fire Brigades Union so I speak with authority, with knowledge and with facts.

Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service has over the past 5yrs (as a consequence of the Conservative led coalition and now as the Conservative majority government) been forced to cut the number of fire engines from 42 to 28, this number will be cut again shortly to 24. There will, by the end of 2020, potentially have been 10 Community Fire Station closures taking the numbers down from 26 to 16 (potentially less in worst case scenarios). Fire deaths since 2005 in Merseyside have trebled, cuts cost lives is not just a soundbite it is a reality.