Gransnet forums

Relationships

Rejected at a stressful time

(50 Posts)
Chickenbrain2009 Sat 27-Aug-22 15:37:46

Please don’t suggest the Samaritans! I am a single parent now aged 71. I have four adult children. I worked my socks off to bring them up. I have no family of origin. My ex has recently been diagnosed with Stage Four cancer. Recently he asked him to remarry him and pointed out the financial advantages etc. These are true but to be honest at this moment in time I also thought it would be a good idea to have a reconciliation. I am a trained nurse and I wanted to be supportive. He said he wanted to talk to the children first and we agreed he would speak to them one by one. Obviously this would be a bolt from the blue but I thought that once it was explained to them they would want to make us happy. My eldest three had reservations but acquiesced. My younger daughter however went ballistic. She has always been his favourite child and he spoils her rotten. I was accused of being after his money ( he is well off) manipulative, interfering and wanting to take over. The next thing that happened was the marriage was off. I am devastated. I don’t seem to do anything right. Everything I say or do is slapped down. If I make a suggestion it seems to be taken the wrong way.I feel as though the atmosphere is one of hostility and suspicion. I feel as though my children have turned against me. The fact I can be treated like this has made me profoundly depressed. My ex is a nurse and he says that at the end he will need me there to nurse him as the children are too busy. But when I said this I was told to butt out.I’ve devoted my life to my children. I never remarried and I am feeling totally unloved.Nothing I say or do is seen positively. Now this puts him in a difficult position, but he says I should try to get on with them. If I try to tell them I am upset I am accused of being self centred , after all they all are, and I should stop feeling sorry for myself. Thats eas