Gransnet forums

Relationships

DIL ESTRANGEMENT

(34 Posts)
Win15 Mon 31-Oct-22 00:35:47

I did post this situation a few weeks ago, but took it off right away. I’m really at a loss what to do about this. I documented my son’s life since birth to eighteen. I’m a somewhat professional photographer; the camera I use is a Mamiya professional roll film camera. The roll film allows you to blow up photos wall size without losing any rosolution. Here’s the problem: I went through a divorce four years ago. I took all the photos; not my spouse. He stole them (six boxes full) out of our house one day when I was at work. I have been trying to get them back for the past four years. My DIL got them in her hands telling him she was going to do a family project. He gave them to her, but said he wanted them back. She told me she had them, but was going to keep them because they are of her husband (my son). I paid thousands of dollars in film, professional processing, etc. These photos were sent out to high/end film processors-no Walmarts! They are like high end wedding photos. I asked her if I could have them back. That I would make copies of some that are her favorite. She won’t budge. She said she has every right to keep them. She has them in a hidden location, even. I thought, okay, well at least they will be safe…but if they break up, they will go with her. I really want them back. They are my memories of him growing up. I have always been loving to her, and never challenged her…but I want them. I invested years in these beautiful photos. She is a Fundamentalist Christian and her and her family have very strict beliefs and values about husbands obeying wives. He was raised Catholic, but has taken her religion. She is close to her family, but has always excluded my ex-spouse and I because we are divorced, and he came out as gay. She says he’s a sinner. What course of action can I take?

Win15 Mon 31-Oct-22 00:39:24